The Consequences Related To Drinking And Driving That Minors Should Note
California gives out some of the toughest fines for drivers found under the influence, and the charges are worse for drivers under the age of 21. Drivers over the age of 21 face similar charges from the courts and DMV, but underage drivers face longer suspensions on their license and have to serve longer community service hours because of their crime. Since California has a Zero-Tolerance Policy, any minor who has had even one drink will be taken in for a DUI transgression which may result in a misdemeanor, infraction or a civil offense. It will be hard for most lawyers to fight the DMV suspensions placed on a minor, but it helps to hire an attorney to lessen the criminal charges a driver may face.
California law stipulates that any minor with a .01% of alcohol or greater in his blood stream will be subject to a DUI transgression which can have an automatic one-year suspension for a first violation. If a driver declines to take a test to see the BAC levels, the DMV can subject a minor to a one-to-three year license suspension for refusing to comply. Even if a motorist does not have his license and is arrested for drinking and driving, he could face a one-year delay from obtaining his license. As with other DUI charges, an individual caught will have to schedule a Per se hearing within ten days of his arrest to combat the charges, but in order to schedule and attend a meeting, a DUI lawyer must be present.
Fines and Punishments
All minors found under the influence will face some sort of license suspensions for at least a year as well as additional punishments from the state, which can vary depending on prior convictions. For a first-time lawbreaker, an automatic one-year suspension will be placed on his license as well as a $100 fine; while a second-time conviction will draw a $200 fine and a $300 fine will be issued for a third offense.
Apart from the fines and suspensions, all minors will have to attend and complete a three-month alcohol abuse program, and some may even have to visit a youth drunk driving program as well. If a minor must visit a youth drunk driving program, he will have to sign up for either a coroner’s office, recovery center, or E.R. to see first-hand the victims of a DUI or individuals suffering from addiction to drugs or alcohol. Yes, a strategic Laguna Beach DUI attorney can help you get off with just an alcohol abuse program, but your past history will sway the judge in making you attend one or both programs or not.